25 Days of Christmas – Day 2

Silent Night, Holy Night

The First Noel

O Holy Night

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

White Christmas

These are some of my favorite Christmas songs. I would even go so far as to say that the Christmas season just wouldn’t seem right or complete without these songs.

I like to sing them – alone and with other people. I like to listen to them – in all kinds of different genres. Some of my favorite Christmas songs are more appropriate for a worship service, others are more general in nature.

The Christmas season just wouldn’t be the same without its music. No other holiday has a specific type of music integrally attached to it like Christmas has its carols.

I think this may be one of the main reasons Christmas is so widely known and celebrated. I think people learn best through song. When I can’t memorize a long passage of text or learn the periodic table of elements, I can still remember the lyrics to a song that I first heard 30 years ago.

Music can bring peace to heart like no other thing in the world and peace is at the core of what Christmas is all about – peace on earth, good will towards men.

Music accompanies all our celebrations – birthdays, weddings, coronations, visits by heads of state.

And when the Son of God was born, music filled the skies that same night and our hearts every celebration of that anniversary since.

Leave a Reply

