The 23rd Psalm

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,

he leads me beside quiet waters,

he restores my soul.

He guides me in paths of righteousness

for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk

through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me

in the presence of my enemies.

You anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and love will follow me

all the days of my life,

and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Image courtesy of PhotoBucket

In these six short verses is the truth of our God. That He is our God, our Savior, our Father, and our Shepherd.

Almost every Christian knows these verses by heart. They are said at just about every Christian funeral. They are spoken at the bedside of the ill. They are prayed by those in despair.

Why?

Because in these six short verses is the truth of our God. The truth that He will comfort us. He will heal us. He will bring us out of despair.

The God that composed these six short verses is the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.

The shepherd that provides for our every need (so that we “shall not want”) is the God that parted the Red Sea and struck down the first born in Egypt.

The God in whose house we will dwell forever is the God that created the heavens and the earth.

He who restores our souls did so by the blood of His own Son, the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world.

Over the next couple of days, we’ll explore these six short verses of the 23rd Psalm.

Journey with me as we follow in our Father’s footsteps through the 23rd Psalm.


Leave a Reply

