Home Is Where the Heart Is

I’ve been married to Nancy for twenty years – our anniversary is at the end of August on the 30th. I tell you that to let you know that I do, in fact, know the date of my wedding anniversary.

In those twenty years, we have owned just one house. We were home owners for nearly six years when we lived in Wisconsin. All the other homes we have lived in were either rented or provided for us by a church.

As we have reached a pretty major milestone in our lives, we are dreaming of a place to live that will provide a feeling of permanence. Well, at least as much permanence as can be achieved in this life time.

My wife’s ideal home is an old farm house, complete with plenty of room for family and a big yard for our dog to play in.

Image courtesy of Bob Callebert

I, myself, had several “dream” houses during my lifetime.

A place on the beach in the Caribbean

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A cabin in the mountains.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A condo-in-the-sky in Chicago.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A cottage in the English countryside.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But wherever I have lived with my wife and sons has been home.

And home here on earth is but a shadow of the real home that is waiting for me in heaven.

Jesus said, “In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.

There’s nothing wrong with living in a nice home here on earth. We are saving up for that farm house. We hope to be able to use it in our ministry. But it will not become our obsession or distract us from what we are here for – to serve Christ in His Kingdom.

If God blesses us with the means to be able to purchase such a house, we will give Him all the glory.

But we also know that no matter what kind of house we will call home in this life it will not compare to the place that Jesus is preparing for us in heaven.

Personally, I think it just might be a combination of farm house, beach house, cabin, condo and cottage.

Wouldn’t that be cool?

Leave a Reply

