What Changed?

On this last day of Christmas, that’s my question: What changed?

How am I different for having celebrated and meditated and, in some cases, endured, Christmas 2015?

It was not a “white Christmas”  where I live, at least not until a few days later. It was green and warmish on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

It is hard for me to get into the “Christmas Spirit” when it is like that.

And that tells me there is something wrong with me.

Christmas is not about how I feel – or in this case, don’t feel.

Christmas comes whether there’s snow or not. Christmas comes whether there’s family or not. Christmas comes whether there’s health or not.

Christ came when no one was expecting Him – and there is the key for me.

I cannot rely on “getting into the spirit” of Christmas or anything else. I must be changed by Christ.

I must be transformed by Christ.

And I am. When I come into contact with the Gospel, with  Christ Himself through His Word, I am transformed.

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.

John 1:14

Christ, please change me today. Amen.

Leave a Reply

