Faith is a Gift

…we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous. – 1 John 2:1

I struggle with telling people that God loves them so much and so completely that they do not have to do anything to earn His love. My struggle is that so many reject this free gift.

God’s love. God’s forgiveness. God’s grace. God’s mercy. All of these are total, 100% gifts. I can do nothing to earn them. All I can do is reject them. And even then, God still loves me!

However, there are many Christians who believe that they must do something in order to be saved. Some believe good works are necessary. Others believe that a decision or a choice must be made to believe in God.

But this passage from the Bible cannot be ignored:

And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him. – Hebrews 11:6

“Ah!” they say, “but I must have faith! See it is my faith through which God loves me. My faith! My choice! My decision!”

But these also cannot be ignored:

So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ. – Romans 10:17

For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. – Ephesians 2:8-9

Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith – Hebrews 12:2

I see clearly in these passages that faith is something God gives to us through His Holy Word.

God comes to us in love and we respond to His love by the faith He gives to us in His love.

I rebuke Satan, who whispers in people’s ears  to lead them away from this free gift. He tells them they must earn God’s love by making a choice, making a decision. And they are led down a path that leads to despair and confusion asking, “How do I know I made the right decision in the right way?”

I plead with the Holy Spirit to give me the strength to continue to proclaim the free gift of God’s grace and love and forgiveness to all people!


Subscribe to the daily devotion In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Donate to True Men Ministries here.

Leave a Reply

