What Will Last Forever

The things we build out of brick, mortar, wood and plaster, will not last. But what God builds in us through Jesus Christ will last forever!

As [Jesus] came out of the temple, one of his disciples said to him, “Look, Teacher, what wonderful stones and what wonderful buildings!” And Jesus said to him, “Do you see these great buildings? There will not be left here one stone upon another that will not be thrown down” Mark 13:1-2 (ESV).

I have a confession to make.

I’ve been battling some feelings of melancholy and sadness for a couple of months now.

I believe that it has its basis in buildings. Structures of brick, mortar, plaster and wood.

Change is a strange thing. Something that is, for all intents and purposes, rock solid is suddenly gone. When that “something” has been around for years, decades, or even centuries, the emotions and feelings that surface when it is suddenly gone are powerful and can be almost debilitating.

20160905_113914This past Spring, my mother announced that she intends to move to Florida. She retired from her job of 30 years the year before and her second job of over 10 years just a couple of months before. Even though we had a mild winter here, she just doesn’t want to endure another winter in Illinois. And who can blame her?

So she put her house up for sale.

But this is the house that our family built in 1975 and moved into early in 1976. I was eleven years old when we moved in. I didn’t officially move out until I was twenty-five or six.

When we moved back to Illinois five years ago, I took up the lawn and driveway care – just as I did when I was a kid.

Now that house will belong to someone else. All those family Christmases, graduation parties, celebrating the last wedding anniversary of my grandparents, and all the “ordinary” events that go into a life were all witnessed by those walls, windows and roof.

But no more. My memories will remain with me, but the house will belong to someone else.

I’ve been coming to grips with that this summer and am finally in an accepting place with it.

Image result for kfuoThen I received news that the building where I spent nearly 9 years of my life working will be torn down. And all those feelings resurfaced!

In late 1987 I started working at KFUO-AM radio in its studios on the campus of Concordia Seminary, St. Louis (where I was a student). I was a broadcast engineer and on-air announcer until the spring of 1995 when I graduated from Seminary and become a pastor in Michigan.

The studios of KFUO were built and dedicated in 1927. There were six main broadcast studios, offices, meeting rooms, music libraries, transmitter rooms and a broadcast museum. I spent a lot of time in that building, eventually working a midnight-6am broadcast shift on KFUO-FM during my last year of seminary.

14444778_858060717661981_166757626108760375_oA few weeks ago, that building was slated to be demolished. It would cost too much to renovate and bring it up to code. The FM station has been gone for nearly ten years. The AM station has moved its studios to Kirkwood, Missouri several years ago. It was just an empty shell of a building.

I have many wonderful memories of that old building and my time there. But I’m also sad that it will no longer be there – even though I haven’t visited it in many years.

As [Jesus] came out of the temple, one of his disciples said to him, “Look, Teacher, what wonderful stones and what wonderful buildings!” And Jesus said to him, “Do you see these great buildings? There will not be left here one stone upon another that will not be thrown down” Mark 13:1-2 (ESV).

The things that we make in this world – buildings, houses, etc. – will not last. They could be destroyed in earthquakes or floods, or they could just be passed their time of usefulness and safety.

But there is one thing that will last forever:

For here we have no lasting city, but we seek the city that is to come (Hebrews 13:14).

The hymn writer Isaac Watts teaches me a wonderful lesson in this with his hymn “O God, Our Help in Ages Past”:

Time, like an ever-rolling stream,
soon bears us all away;
We fly forgotten as a dream
dies at the op’ning day.

I pray that I can focus on Jesus and what He has done – and is doing – for me. All other things will fall away, especially when I fly away home on the Last Day!

©2016 True Men Ministries

___________________________________________________________________

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

1 thought on “What Will Last Forever”

Leave a Reply

