Last Days

It has been my experience that you never know “last days.” You never know or recognize the last day you have with a spouse or parent. You never know the last day of an old way of life.

September 10, 2001 was one of the “last days” that I didn’t know or recognize at the time.

Stay awake, for you do not know on what day your Lord is coming.

– Matthew 24:42

September 10, 2001.

It was a typical Monday morning in September. It was a clear sunrise, as I recall. The weather was bright and warm all day.

Image result for september 11It was a normal Monday for me. I had preached and presided at worship over the weekend.

I don’t recall what I preached about that weekend, but I think I used Luke 13:22-30 as my text, in which Jesus talks about the “narrow door” that we are to strive to enter through.

That Monday, 15 years ago, I taught religion to the 7th and 8th graders in the Lutheran day school of the congregation I served – St. John’s Lutheran, Mayville, WI.

(By the way, they were in the news this past week, as heavy rains flooded the school and caused classes to be canceled for a day or two. You can read about that here. Please keep them in your prayers!)

I don’t recall what I did for the rest of the day. Probably office work, getting ready for upcoming meetings and the meeting of the pastors in my circuit which would take place the following day, and making a shut-in call or two.

Little did I know that September 10, 2001 was the “last day” of a certain way of life.

Up to that point, the most significant days during my lifetime – and by that I mean days where you say “I remember where I was when …” – were the day Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, President Nixon resigned the presidency, President Reagan was shot, and the space shuttle Challenger exploded.

Now I add September 11, 2001. I remember exactly where I was when the planes hit the World Trade Center buildings and changed our world forever.

I’ll talk more about that in the next In My Father’s Footsteps devotion.

September 10, 2001 was a “last day.” It was the last day that we didn’t worry about foreign terrorist attacking us on our home soil.

It was the last day of easy-peasy air travel.

It was the last day of thinking about Afghanistan as the Soviet Union’s “Viet Nam.”

September 10, 2001 was the last day of an old way of living in the United States.

But I didn’t know it at the time. I don’t think anyone knew it at the time.

It awakens in me what Jesus Christ had been telling His disciples about the “Last Day.”

You don’t know when it will be.

So live as if this is it.

I may die tomorrow. You may die tomorrow. Someone you love or someone you know may not be here tomorrow.

You just don’t know.

So live today as if this was your last day.

Tell those you love that you love them. Send them an email or a text. You may want to send them a hand-written note or a card!

Call them up on the phone.

Invite them to come to church with you tomorrow.

Come to church yourself tomorrow! Or the next time your local church has a worship service.

You see, Jesus is not God of the future. He isn’t God that is to come.

Jesus isn’t the God of the past, the one who came a long time ago.

And yet, at the same time – He’s both of those things!

But more importantly – Jesus is our Savior and God right now.

Jesus Christ is your Savior right now. He loves you right now.

He died a long time ago. He rose from the dead a long time ago.

But Jesus is alive right now for you!

This could be your last day. This could be the Last Day.

But with Jesus there are no more days – only eternity in heaven forever for those who have faith in Him as Lord and Savior.

Let’s make this September 10 sometime to remember – as the day that we bring to the forefront of our minds that we will live forever with Jesus!

©2016 True Men Ministries

___________________________________________________________________

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

