Mentors I

mentorYou then, my child, be strengthened by the grace that is in Christ Jesus, and what you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses entrust to faithful men, who will be able to teach others also.
2 Timothy 1:1-2

It was cold and dark outside. But it was warm and bright in the classroom. We had returned from Christmas break and the classroom was back to its normal look – all the decorations were taken down and put away.

The bell had rung and we were in our seats ready to start another school day.

Religion was our first class and we were continuing our lessons. We had been given a list of Bible passages to memorize and we would start the day with our work on those.

Mr. L. had given us twelve Scripture verses to know by heart, telling us that these twelve were the basics that he felt every Christian should know.

Passages like John 3:16, Romans 6:23, Ephesians 2:8-9, and others.

While the entire class was doing the work of memorizing these passages, I felt a special obligation to do this.

You see, Mr. L. called me and my friend Ron his “theologians.” We had the best grades in religion class and I especially liked Mr. L.’s class and the way he taught us Jesus and how he saved us through his death and resurrection.

The next year I moved to another school and I didn’t see Mr. L. again. I did talk to him on the phone after I graduated college and was about to embark on my seminary journey.

By that time Mr. L. had become Pastor L. and he called to congratulate me and remind me that he saw this path I was on way back in the sixth grade.

I must admit that I didn’t see that so clearly. After I transferred to a public school, I left religion classes behind. I still went to church but being a theologian or pastor wasn’t what I had in mind for many years.

But when I transferred back to a Lutheran school for my sophomore year of college and enrolled in theology classes with the intention of becoming a pastor, I remembered Mr. L. and the impact he had on my life.

His impact on my life was always there but I didn’t see it until much later. He had taught me about Jesus and my clearest early memory of learning religion and about Jesus was from Mr. L.

Mr. L. had been the sower through whom God had planted the seed of my calling to be a pastor. Even when I didn’t see it or worse, ignored it, that seed was there.

The Holy Spirit was waiting for just the right time to cause that seed to sprout. It took a long time. It didn’t happen overnight.

That’s the lesson I’m learning now. God’s timing is not always in line with the timing I think should be. Yet his timing is always perfect!

After over twenty years of being a pastor, and being a religion teacher in a Lutheran day school since 1997, I am so thankful for Mr. L.’s insight into my being a theologian!

It is my intention to use this experience to help some young one also see the path they are on. I intend to be the sower through whom God can plant his seed for another generation of pastors and teachers!

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

