Mentors II

I will sing of steadfast love and justice; to you, O Lord, I will make music. Psalm 101:1

Radio station KFUO in St. Louis had the largest classical music library west of the Mississippi River in the United States. I was an announcer at KFUO in the late 1980’s and early ‘90’s.

Working the overnight shift – midnight to 6am – I had a lot of time to peruse th largest classical music library!

It was here that I first came across the music of Richard Souther. The album/disc was “Cross Currents” and while the music was not strictly classical, I was able to incorporate some of the music into my show.

I also listened to his music during my day, it was – and is – that good. “Cross Currents” would eventually reach No. 9 on Billboard’s Top New Age Albums chart. He would also produce and arrange “Vision: The Music Of Hildegard von Bingen”, which reached the top of Billboard’s Classical Crossover chart.

When I started my Christian music show on the internet in the late 1990’s, I contacted Richard via email. We talked back and forth through email and when Facebook came around in the early 2000’s we were able to instant message each other.

We’ve become quite good friends – even though we’ve never actually met each other face to face.

the-prayer-closet300Richard’s music is inspired and inspiring. He has graciously allowed me to use his music for my podcast. I especially like to use his “Prayer Closet” recordings for my personal devotion and prayer time.

I count Richard as one of my mentors in that he has taught me to never give up on my dreams or in using the gifts the Lord Christ has given me.

Richard uses his talents to share the love of Christ. Not only is he an outstanding musician but also as gifted photographer.

Another way that Richard has mentored me was when he was critical ill a few years ago. An accidental illness left it very difficult for him to compose and play music. But he would never give up. Through the prayers and encouragement of his friends and especially his wife, Cyndi, Richard was able to overcome this challenge and continues to make music for people to enjoy and to give all glory to God.

Through the music Richard worships God and helps others worship God. This has been an incredible lesson for me – to be able to use the talents God has given to worship him.

I’ve passed this on to my own sons. They are not musicians, but they are athletes and love sports. And they have been gifted uniquely by God in this area. I’ve been teaching them that they can use their athletic gifts to worship God.

And like Richard, they also can help others see God in them and their gifts. We often pray together that God will use their athletic gifts in order to bring others to Jesus.

If you would like to know more about Richard Souther, go to his website http://richardsouther.com/

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

2 thoughts on “Mentors II”

Leave a Reply

