An Excellent Wife II

An excellent wife … The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. Proverbs 31:10a, 11

ed-nancy-christmas-2011-1Nancy and I have three sons – Eddie, Kurt and Mark. When Eddie was old enough to eat solid food that didn’t come out of a jar, we began a tradition in our home.

Nancy, Eddie, and I started a weekly family pizza and show night. Most of the time we make homemade pizzas and watch either a movie or one of our favorite TV shows.

In the early 2000’s we were having our weekly pizza night. I made homemade thin crust pizza and French bread pizza. We all enjoyed it thoroughly.

I did, that is, until later that evening. I was violently ill in the middle of the night. And it wasn’t getting better. When my left arm went numb and I couldn’t stand up anymore, that’s when Nancy helped me to the car and drove me to the ER.

It turned out that my gall bladder had attacked me.

Two days later, my doctor attacked back and took it out!

I needed to recover for about a week and then I was back at my pastoral ministry.

I trusted me wife completely during that whole episode. She took care of me when I was sick, drove me to the hospital and stayed with me while friends of ours stayed with the boys.

She made sure I ate the proper kinds of foods during and after my recovery. She made sure that my stitches were clean. She took total care of the house while I couldn’t even lift a laundry basket per doctor’s orders.

My point is that I could trust my wife completely with all that needed to be done that week and every day before it and after it.

I trust my wife with my heart and she’s never did anything to break that trust. I have no lack of gain because of my wife! We have three upstanding young Christian sons and Nancy runs our household like a well-oiled machine.

At the same time, she never makes big decisions on her own. She always discusses them with me as I try to do with her. I have never had a reason not to trust her in anything.

I see this as the gift of God that it is. And I know that my excellent wife is this way because God is this way with her and all of us.

We can trust God completely because he keeps every single promise he makes and takes care of us. We will never lack anything with God.

I see this lived out every day with my excellent wife. For which I thank God every morning and every night.

 

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

