An Excellent Wife VI

An excellent wife … rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household. Proverbs 31:10a, 15

It is absolutely NOT TRUE that if your wife doesn’t get out of bed before sunrise, she is not an excellent wife.

I know excellent wives who get up before dawn and those who sleep well past sunrise. The main point of Proverbs 31:15 is that an excellent wife does everything she can for her family.

Most dairy farmers I know, or know of, are before-sunrise kind of people. I suspect a lot of that has to do with traditions. Cows need to be milked at least twice a day and usually twelve hours apart. When done by hand, or if there are a lot of cows, that can take hours. Starting early – before sunrise – frees up the rest of the morning and early afternoon for all the other chores on a farm.

Those who live in the suburbs or in the city don’t have that kind of responsibility but many of them still get up before dawn. Traffic to and from work tends to be heavy in the big cities. And bad weather in the north (or south in the southern hemisphere) can slow things down even more.

dscn7455An excellent wife doesn’t let cows, bad weather, or anything else hinder her from providing for her household.

This is most certainly true in our house.

I wrote about how my wife is excellent in providing for our family through the various jobs she has held here.

And six days a week she rises while it is still night to provide for us.

At least once a week she’ll make the boys a hot breakfast of pancakes or waffles. She also makes sure that I have all I’ll need to get through my day and will make sure the boys are set as well.

That Nancy does this makes her – in my eyes as well as according to Proverbs – an excellent wife.

But what motivates an excellent wife is the Triune God: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Out of God’s love for all of us, he started in the dark and created the world.

Out of Gods’ love for all of us, Jesus Christ was born in the dark, lived in a sin-darkened world, and died on a cross in the dark to save us from our sins.

Out of God’s love for all of us, Jesus Christ also rose from the dead while it was still dark, thus assuring us (by his rising) that we will one day rise from the grave.

Jesus’ resurrection on the first day of the week while it was still dark is the motivation for an excellent wife to provide for her family.

In a complete reversal of my earlier life, I absolutely love getting out of bed and starting my day before sunrise. I get up nearly every day at 5am – and in the winter, where I live, that can be a full two hours before sunrise.

One of the blessings of getting up that early is that my excellent wife also gets up before sunrise and I get to see her first thing in the morning.

And that makes my day!

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

