An Excellent Wife IX

An excellent wife … is not afraid of snow for her household, for all her household are clothed in scarlet. Proverbs 31:10a, 21

Growing up in Northern Illinois, wintertime was full of cold and snowy days.

When my family moved here in 1970 from northern California, we had missed out on the worst snowstorm in Chicago’s history in 1967.

But I survived the Blizzard of ’79 (20.3 inches of snow over a three-day period) and the “Snowpocalypse” of 2011 (21.2 inches over a three-day period).

My memory tells me that most of the Christmases were white (but that may not be accurate).

The last couple Christmas since living in Hawthorn Woods, Illinois and serving St. Matthew Lutheran Church & School have not been white. The amount of snow on the ground in the last six winters has not been overwhelming – except for 2011 (see above).

Growing up here, I’m used to snow in the winter time.

My excellent wife, on the other hand, grew up in St. Louis, Missouri. While St. Louis gets snow, it isn’t nearly as much as Chicago gets.

However, her love me and our family has allowed her to follow me around to such snowy places as Central Michigan and Wisconsin and Northern Illinois.

dscn6707Still, that doesn’t mean she has to like it and she doesn’t.

And the older I get, I find myself agreeing with her about snow and cold. If it were up to me, I would like snow from the day before Thanksgiving to the day after New Year’s. Then it can be 70’s and sunny (with occasional rain – but only from 9pm – 4am).

Yet, even though my excellent wife doesn’t like the snow and the cold, she is not afraid of it. That’s because she knows that God has provided us with the resources in order for our household to be “clothed in scarlet” – which is to say that we have warm clothes and a warm house in which to take our winter shelter!

An excellent wife has no fear of what can hurt her and her household as she has faith in God.

God protects his people. He started by redeeming us back from sin, death, and the devil through the shed blood of Jesus Christ our Savior – thus assuring us of eternal life in heaven.

God protects and provides for his people in this life as well.

He has gifted an excellent wife with intelligence to provide for her family and with a strength of heart that doesn’t fear things like cold and snow.

That certainly describes my excellent wife!

 

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

