Reflections

As in water face reflects face, so the heart of man reflects the man. Proverbs 27:19

As I look at my phone, before I hit the home button and turn it on, I see a reflection of me.

It is dark but recognizable. Not the same as my reflection in the mirror but I can still see it is me looking back at me.

attachment-1If I turn the phone on and take a “selfie” – a picture of myself – I see a better reflection of me.

I do this many times a day without even thinking about it. But now that I am thinking about it, I’m not comfortable thinking about just how many times a day I actually do this!

Every day we are faced with our reflections in many different places and in many different ways.

I wake up in the morning and I pour myself a cup of coffee. If I don’t put any creamer in it, I can see my reflection in the surface of the black coffee as I bring that first delicious sip of hot caffeine to my lips.

As I amble into the bathroom for my morning ablutions I look in the mirror and see an accurate – if not somewhat scary – reflection of myself.

And then every time I take my phone out but before I hit the home button, I see a darkened reflection of myself in the screen of the phone.

I also see reflections of myself at other times and in other ways.

I can see a reflection of myself in the reactions of other drivers while I am driving on the road.

I see a reflection of myself in the faces looking back at me during Bible class or when I am preaching or leading worship.

Pictures-Important-March-16-2009-024_thumb.jpgBut the most important reflection of myself that I see and look for is in my wife and sons.

I was at a breakfast at church the other day and one person commented to me that my youngest son looks just like me! I think the phrase they used was “splitting image!”

I don’t see it myself. After all, I’m just about 52. He’s 16. I have receding gray hear, he has strawberry blond hair – and a head full of it. And he weighs about 150 pounds less that I do.

But I understand what this person was trying to tell me. All three of my sons are reflections of me. Children are always a reflection of their parents in some way or another.

Children learn about life initially from their parents. Their lives reflect how they learned about life, how to interact with others, what manners (or lack thereof) they have, how they handle disappointment, joy, and all other aspects of life.

But the most important aspect of this reflection is their relationship with God. While no Christian is “born” a Christian – that is, they are not Christians simply because their parents were Christians – a person’s first exposure to God is through their parents.

This lays an incredible responsibility on a Christian parent’s shoulders. But it is also an incredible joy to be able to share Christ with our children.

Having said that, however, I want to be very clear that I am not saying that if a child grows up to reject Jesus Christ that it is somehow their parent’s fault. No one can believe – have faith – for someone else.

But when God blesses a couple with children, I believe that part of that blessing is to be able to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with their children.

And God-willing these children will reflect our love for God in their own lives.

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

