Thinking Ahead

Satan went out from the presence of the Lord and struck Job with loathsome sores from the sole of his foot to the crown of his head. And he took a piece of broken pottery with which to scrape himself while he sat in the ashes.
Job 2:7-8

Wealth is fleeting. Health is perishable.

The only thing that is eternal is our soul and God.

So, what do we focus on?

In a recent family devotion, I asked my family the question, “If you knew this was going to be your last day on earth, what would you do?’

My sixteen-year-old said, “Eat junk food.”

My eighteen-year-old said, “Drink a lot of soda pop.”

My wife said, “Spend time with family and eat cheese cake.”

chips-and-cheese-dipAnd I said, “Spend time with family.” I didn’t tell them that I would also eat an entire bag of potato chips with jalapeño cheese sauce.

The truth, however, is that we never really know when our last day in this life will be. It could be today. It could be 80 years from now.

When I was a teenager, I was immortal. Well, at least I felt I was immortal. I never thought of my own death. I ate pretty much what I wanted to. I didn’t really take care of myself physically because I wasn’t thinking of “down the road.”

It wasn’t long, however, that I discovered the truth, “You are only immortal for a limited time.”

I was at the doctor’s office the other day. In the last year, I’ve started to take my health seriously. With the doctor’s advice, counseling, and prescription pad I was able to lower my cholesterol to a safe level. I was also able to lower my weight to more manageable and healthy poundage.

But being nearly 52, some things are too late. I asked about the sagging skin around my middle. “Will that shrink back into shape?” I asked him.

He said no. It had been too long and I’ve gotten too long in the tooth for that to happen. If I want to get rid of the sagging skin that used to be propped up by fat, I will first have to commit to keep the pounds off and then see a plastic surgeon.

He said that if I had committed to this healthier lifestyle when I was younger, I wouldn’t have this problem.

If only I had listened to those who were trying to tell me exactly that when I was younger.

But I was “immortal” and didn’t think about the future so much. I just didn’t think, period.

The Book of Job in the Old Testament is meant to help us to think about our future. Wealth is fleeting. Health is perishable.

But we can count on two things. We will live beyond this life if we continue to remain faithful to God Almighty. And God will never stop loving us! He is our Redeemer who lives eternally!

There are some things that I’m going to have to live with even as I get healthier now in my early 50’s.

But I also have faith in Jesus Christ and that is going to let me live eternally.

And someday, I’ll be seeing Christ my Redeemer with my own eyes and never have to worry about cholesterol, fat, wealth and health again.

I wonder if there will be chips and cheese dip in heaven?

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Journey to Calvary – Lent 2016 Devotions available here.

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

