Things Get Dark

I will give free utterance to my complaint; I will speak in the bitterness of my soul.
Job 10:1

doom-and-gloomWhen things are going bad for a Christian, there are basically two choices.

Either give up on God and faith.

Or get up in God’s face and talk to him!

I’ve seen both over the years.

One man I know lost his job after 30 years as the company he worked for went bankrupt. Just like that. Pension gone. Career over. He came into my office a broken man. But he poured out his heart to God. He prayed and prayed. He continued to participate in worship weekly. He joined the weekly men’s Bible study. He wasn’t going to give up on God. He wasn’t happy, but he wasn’t walking away, either.

Another man I know came home from work one day to find his wife and children gone. She had been having an affair with another man and decided to leave and live with him. This guy, too, was a broken man. But instead of coming to talk to me (I did go and talk to him) he decided to give up on God. He walked away from the church and I haven’t seen him darken the door of the church since.

I know another man who lost his wife to cancer years ago. She was the love of his life, but died at age 48. He is bitter. He is still grieving. He didn’t do anything wrong. He’s a lot like Job. He gets angry – who wouldn’t? Yet he is in church every week. He stops by to talk to me or my colleague every week, too. He has been hurt, deeply, but he hasn’t given up on God!

Job 10 is a tough chapter to take in, especially if it is the only chapter you read. In this chapter, Job reveals the depth of his depression. He has gotten to the point where he feels he is in a no-win situation.

If he has sinned, then God will punish him. If he is guiltless, as he – and we – knows he is, he’s still in trouble because God is all powerful and can do whatever he wants. At least, that’s what Job feels is the truth at this point.

But this is not true. God is merciful and compassionate. Job 10 is not the end of the story!

This is why not giving up on church is so very important. Left to his own, Job would certainly be lost. True, he has his three so-called friends, but they are an example of getting things wrong and not an example of a faithful church family.

When things are dark in your life, lean on your faithful church family that will pray with you, share with you God’s Word, and just be with you.

And if you are a member of a church, reach out to those you see are hurting. Help them by praying for them, being available for them, and loving them.

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.