Confession, Not Defense

Will you show partiality toward [God]? Will you plead the case for God?
Job 13:8

repairGuys are “fixers.”

Adam’s first job in the Garden of Eden was to “work it and keep it.”

Ever since that day the default mode of men is to fix things.

When my wife comes home and looks haggard and on the verge of tears, I sit her down, ask her how she is, and then try to fix everything for her.

Most of the time, however, that isn’t what my wife – or any wife, for that matter – is looking for.

Wives, girlfriends, women in general, don’t want guys to fix things for them – at least most of the time.

Guys, they want us to listen to them. They want us to have compassion for them.

Our problem is that this is not our default mode! We are “fixers.”

Job’s three friends are trying to “fix” him. They have been trying to get Job to confess whatever sin he obviously – in their minds – has committed that God would punish him in such a vehement way.

And while Job admits that he is a sinner, “How many are my iniquities and my sins?” (Job 13:23), he knows that he has done nothing specific to warrant such suffering.

Job doesn’t want his friends to “fix” him, he wants them to have compassion for him and to comfort him.

But Job’s friends even go so far as to presume to speak for God!

Job calls them on this. And in doing so, calls us out as well!

There have been several occasions where I have been tempted to “speak for God.” Now, this is an occupational hazard for a preacher. After all, I am called to preach God’s Word.

But I dare not presume to know what God specifically wants for any person in a specific situation.

In fact, I need to understand – as does every Christian – that I do not speak for God. In a similar way, I am not to defend God. I should – must – let God speak for himself!

As I read recently, “God is in control of everything and perfectly capable of defending himself. He calls us to confess him, not to defend him” (Lutheran Study Bible ©2009 Concordia Publishing House, St. Louis, notes on Job 13:18, page 798, emphasis added).

I don’t speak for God, I confess what God has already said and done. In his love for me and the whole world, God sent Jesus to be our Redeemer and Savior!

I will confess this truth to the whole world through my actions, my words, and my compassion for other people.

Guys, this is how we should approach any situation where we are tempted to fix it.

Instead of speaking, confess! Have compassion, be present, love the person you are tempted to fix.

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.