Live Well

Where then is my hope? Who will see my hope?
Job 17:15

Joe hasn’t been feeling well. He leaves work at his lunch-hour to keep a doctor’s appointment.

He doesn’t really like his job but it’s the only one he could get after years on the fire department. He had to quit the fire department because he started to not feel well.

He has been to many, many doctors. They can’t seem to find what’s wrong with Joe.

He meets with yet another doctor on his lunchbreak from his job that he doesn’t really like.

This doctor tells him what they found.

It’s an incurable brain disease.

Joe looks at the doctor with a forlorn look. And with all the despair that one would expect after receiving such news he asked, “What am I going to do now?”

The doctor answers, “You have some time left, some life left. I suggest you live it well.”

This is a description from one of my favorite movies, Joe vs. the Volcano.

Tom Hanks plays Joe and the look on his face and in his eyes and the tone in his voice when he asks his forlorn question reveal just how great an actor Tom Hanks is!

I’ve seen that look on people’s faces and heard that voice, many times as a pastor.

I’m not sure I know how to answer the question any better than Joe’s doctor.

While you still have breath, while you still have life, you should live your life well.

If only Job’s “friends” had told him that!

But no, they tell him to admit that he’s sinned big time! That’s why God’s punishing you!

And this puts Job on the defensive because Job hasn’t done anything wrong other than normal sinful behavior that we all are guilty of!

While Job is making his defense, he’s not living the life he has left well. This is a challenge for anyone who’s going through tough times.

While we’re looking at ourselves and the misery we are facing, we tend to look down. Sometimes literally, like Job.

If I hope for Sheol (the grave) as my house, if I make my bed in darkness, if I say to the pit, ‘You are my father,’ and the worm, ‘My mother’ or ‘My sister….’” (Job 17:13-14)

As depressed as these words of Job sound – and they are, don’t get me wrong! – Job is beginning to look up! For these words that he says are said to God!

This is an important aspect of Christianity that can sometimes be overlooked. Even when you are feeling low, feeling depressed, that doesn’t mean you lack faith!

Surely a melancholy spirit is the result of living in a fallen world, but it doesn’t mean that the joy of our salvation is missing!

Job is looking to God and as we’re going to see in the next couple of chapters he certainly has faith in God! This is our encouragement today!

By the way, Joe took his doctor’s advice and lived his life from that moment on well. I encourage you to do the same!

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.