This Is About God

“Behold, I go forward, but he is not there, and backward, but I do not perceive him; on the left hand when he is working, I do not behold him; he turns to the right hand, but I do not see him. But he knows the way that I take….”
Job 23:8-10a

When this devotion was originally published, St. Patrick’s Day was just about a week prior.

One of the most famous of St. Patrick’s writings is the prayer known as “St. Patrick’s Breastplate.”

Part of that prayer says,

Christ with me, Christ before me,

Christ behind me, Christ within me,

Christ beneath me, Christ above me,

Christ at my right, Christ at my left

What an incredible prayer and confession of faith! We go nowhere without Christ! What sweet comfort this is!

But in chapter 23, Job makes a more dismal confession.

He does not see God in front of him or behind him. He does not see God on his left or on his right.

Job – understandably – feels totally alone.

No Christian need ever feel this way since Christ has promised, “I will never leave you nor forsake you” (Hebrews 13:5).

But everyone feels this way at some time or another.

The reality is that for those who fear (believe in) God, there is no such thing as being totally alone.

We may feel like we are, but we truly are not. God is always with us.

Again, Jesus promised, “I am with you always, to the end of the age” (Matthew 28:20).

Both Job and St. Patrick are correct. Christ is always with us. God will never leave us.

And even though Job has this feeling of profound absence, he also confesses that he’s not really alone!

“But he [God] knows the way that I take….”

Job’s confession is to be our confession – that this isn’t really about us but about God!

The rest of this chapter in Job is a prime example of what you will feel if you focus more on yourself and what you are going through than on God who is your Redeemer and Savior.

We simply cannot trust our feelings.

It may feel like God is not with us when we are going through trials and tribulations.

But it simply isn’t true! God is, always has been, and always will be, with us!

When you feel lonely, when you feel – in your heart – abandoned by God, remember this truth:

Whenever our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and he knows everything” (1 John 3:20).

It is during times of despair that we need to trust in God the most that “he knows everything.” Job is our model of this kind of faith.

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

