Night and Day

“They are exalted a little while, and then are gone; they are brought low and gathered up like all others; they are cut off like the heads of grain.”
Job 24:24

Sunrise is one of my favorite times of day. It wasn’t always that way, however.

When I was in junior and senior high, I worked in a bakery on the weekends and over the summers. I fried donuts, made sweet rolls and fresh bread. My boss, Frank, and I would start our “day” at about midnight or so and work till about 9 or 10 in the morning.

In the summer months, we’d then sleep for a couple of hours. I would then hang out with my friends in the afternoon, he would spend time with his family. Sometimes we would get our scuba gear together and go to one of the lakes in Northern Illinois and do a little lake diving. Then we would go to bed at 8:00 or 9:00 p.m. and do it all over again.

When I went off to college, I tended to keep late hours, staying up till midnight or 1:00 a.m. – either going out with friends, hanging out in the dorm, or, occasionally, do homework. I would then sleep in till 9 or 10 in the morning (usually missing my early class).

As I matured and became more responsible, I tended to go to bed earlier in the night and get up earlier in the day. I found that I really liked sunrises!

It’s quiet, except for bird song. It’s an excellent time to have devotions and Bible reading. Today I broadcast a morning devotion live right around sunrise! (You can see these devotions on my Facebook page here).

These are the thoughts that came to mind reading Job 24. In this chapter, Job makes a case for “night and day.” During the night are when wicked people tend to do their work.

Jesus picked up on this theme when he said, “people loved the darkness rather than the light because their works were evil” (John 3:19).

Job names three types of wicked people who rather do their deeds at night than during the light of day: the murderer, the thief; the adulterer.

Nighttime is not in and of itself evil. Some excellent things can happen in the nighttime. Jesus gave us the most famous Bible passage of all time – John 3:16 – at night! Jesus rose from the dead “before dawn, while it was still dark” (see John 20:1).

There are times when I like to sit in a room with low lights, a fire in the fireplace, and jazz music on the hi-fi (and if that doesn’t date me, nothing does!).

One thing to keep in mind, however, is that Jesus Christ said he is the light of the world. He also said that we are the light of the world. And, in Revelation, we are told that there will be no night in heaven (see Revelation 21:24-25).

This isn’t bad news for those who like night time. This is God’s way of telling us that there will be no evil, no wicked, no sin in heaven. These things are usually done at night (but not always).

What Job is saying in chapter 24 is that just as morning brings an end to night, so God will bring an end to evil, wickedness and sin.

And that is good news, indeed!

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

