Purpose

But just as we have been approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel, so we speak, not to please man, but to please God who tests our hearts.
1 Thessalonians 2:4

Why am I here?

It isn’t that I don’t know. Not really. But I need to remind myself on a regular basis.

I am here to be loved by God – and I am.

I only need to look at the cross to see how much God loves me!

And I am here to share the love of God with others.

Jesus Christ died on the cross to save me – and all people – from sin, death, and the power of the devil.

But sometimes, I forget that. I pursue fame and fortune. Not in a crass way like is depicted in the movies or in books or on TV shows.

But in more subtle ways. I am tempted to do things to get “likes,” to get “follows,” to get “views.”

The temptation is to use these things to define why I am here. If I get more “likes,” “follows” and “views” then I’m being successful.

But these things are not why I am here. They can be results of why I am here but not the reason I am here!

I am here to be loved by God and to share the love of God that is shown to me in the person and work of Jesus Christ.

You are here for the same reason!

In my case, I have a ready-made arena to do this. And it isn’t Facebook or Twitter (I’m not quite involved in Instagram yet).

My first and foremost arena to share the love of God is my family. My wife of 26 years and my sons (just about 21-, 18- and 17-years-old).

Of course, I love them. But I also tell them every day. (Well, every day for Nancy, Kurt & Mark. I don’t talk to Eddie every day, but I tell him I love him whenever I do talk with him).

Before Kurt & Mark leave for school in the morning I tell them I love them. Before they go to sleep at night, I tell them I love them.

I tell my wife I love her when we wake up and before we go to sleep and at various times during the day.

I also show them I love them. I take care of things for them – laundry, the dog, odds and ends for school and what-not.

These are things that I do because God has first loved me. In response to God’s love for me in Christ, I love my family.

I also love my friends and my brothers and sisters in Christ at church and in the Church (notice the difference?).

This is why I am here. This is my purpose. Like Paul, I do it to please God as a response to his love for me.

How about you?

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

