Watching and Thankful

We ought always to give thanks to God for you, brothers, as is right, because your faith is growing abundantly, and the love of every one of you for one another is increasing.
2 Thessalonians 1:3

“They are watching you. 24/7/365.”

I was told that this is what it would be like being a parent. My children would watch me. Even when I didn’t realize it. Even when I didn’t think they were. Even when I didn’t want them to.

It was true. They were watching me. They still are.

My wife and I have three sons. Our youngest is 17. Our middle is 18. Our oldest is soon to be 21 (how did that happen?).

And they have watched me all their lives.

I was privileged to be the first baseball coach of all three of them. The youngest and the oldest still play – one in high school and one in college. And they still play the game the way I taught them to play. They were listening. They were watching. Not watching how I played the game but how I taught them how to play the game.

I was also privileged to be their first pastor. I taught all three of them about Jesus as revealed in Scripture and further revealed in Luther’s Small Catechism.

They still read their Bible’s and participate in worship as often as they can.

The other day my oldest told me that he was picked to lead the team in prayer before a baseball game.

The youngest has about a dozen Bible passages in his “work out log” book that help him understand why he is practicing and training for the game of baseball.

Our middle son just bought a ring with a cross on in to wear. But when I asked him why he took it off the other day, he said some kids were making fun of him for it. I told him that would happen – it is part of what we face as Christians.

They still watch me. They still learn about life and faith from my wife and me. It is an awesome and scary responsibility.

But it is part of being a parent and God helps us every day to do the best we can.

Recently I was reading through First and Second Thessalonians as part of my morning devotion time.

When I came across 2 Thessalonians 1:3 I stopped and said a prayer of thanksgiving to God.

For I give thanks to God for my three sons because it is evident to both my wife and I that their faith is growing abundantly!

However, we don’t feel our job is done! We still look for relevant resources to use for our daily devotions with our sons. It is important to my wife and I that we continue to grow as a family in our faith in Jesus Christ!

Why?

Because the world isn’t getting any better. We see it decaying and destroying itself every day. And one day soon, our boys will be living in this world but not in our house. They won’t have our daily influence anymore.

So we continue to thank God for their abundantly growing faith and pray that God will keep them in that faith after our daily influence is gone.

So that they will be ready when the End comes and Jesus calls all the faithful home to heaven.

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

