Book Recommendations

Here is what I currently am reading or just finished reading:

Quiet – The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain.
I just started this book and haven’t gotten into it far enough to be able to tell if it’s good or not. But I know of several people in our congregation that are introverted and thought this would be a valuable resource for me to use to help me understand them.

Turn the Ship Around! by L. David Marquet, Captain, U.S. Navy (Retired)
I am about 3/4 the way through and this book is opening my eyes and mind to how to be a leader in the church, especially in a congregation that wants to succeed in her mission after the current pastor has moved on instead of having to start all over again with a new guy.

The Benedict Option – A Strategy for Christians in a Post-Christian Nation by Rod Dreher
I am half-way through this one. It is easy reading and thought-provoking. Obviously we live a world vastly different today than it was when we were younger. Perhaps this book can help us find the path of living in Christ and His Church in 21st Century America.

From Worst to First – Behind the Scenes of Continental’s Remarkable Comeback by Gordon Bethune, CEO, Continental Airlines
I’m always fascinated by success stories and this one from the airlines business is very interesting, especially in light of the problems United Airlines has had in the last month (United bought out Continental after Bethune left).

All of these books (except the Benedict Option) are recommended by Simon Sinek, the author of Start With Why which I have just finished last week. Sinek has an incredible way of looking at how to be successful in any organization – business, school or church. For more information on Simon Sinek, go to https://www.startwithwhy.com/default.aspx

 

1 thought on “Book Recommendations”

  1. For me the introvert, I feel it is hard to feel connected, and times I don’t want to be known. To be social I have a little button to push; “time to be social”….and many times I simply don’t push the button. 🙂

Leave a Reply

