Showing Love

[Jesus said:] “If you love me, you will keep my commandments.
John 14:15

Our family has a pet beagle named Sox. We love Sox.

And if you were to come to our house, here’s how you would know that we love Sox:

We say we love Sox, of course,

But we also feed him every day. We give him water every day. We take him for a walk every day. We give him a bath every week. We take him to the doctor for a checkup every year.

We cuddle with him, we provide a soft warm bed. We have a collar and leash so that he won’t run into traffic chasing a squirrel or a rabbit.

I say I love my dog. I also show that I love my dog.

I say I love Jesus, too.

So how can I show that I love Jesus?

Jesus says that if I love him, I will keep his commandments.

Here are a few ways that I do this:

I love others (see John 13).

I worship him alone (see the Temptation of Jesus in Luke 4).

I tell others about him (see Acts 1).

I talk to him daily in prayer (see Matthew 26).

I read his word (see Psalm 119).

I forgive others as he has forgiven us (see Matthew 6).

All Christians say they love Jesus.

But what does love mean?

It is helpful for me to remember that love is:

A feeling. I can feel love for something or someone and even feel love for Jesus, although not all the time. So I’m grateful that love is not only a feeling.

Love is a choice. I choose to love my wife every day. Happy and successful marriages are those that know that love is a daily choice and not only a feeling that can be fleeting or fluctuate.

I choose to love Jesus. I am given the power to choose to love Jesus by the Holy Spirit working through the Means of Grace (God’s Word and Sacraments).

Love is action. I love through the things that I do. I think of others first, especially those I love. True love is a selfless act!

Of upmost importance is to remember that we love Jesus because he first loved us (see 1 John 4).

Jesus loved us first – while we were still lost in our sins, Christ died on the cross to forgive those sins (see Romans 5).

We are called to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ. We are called to proclaim his love for us. We do this by saying we love Jesus and we do this by showing we love Jesus by loving God with all our hearts, soul, mind and strength and by loving our neighbor as ourselves.

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

