Living Anew

They shall forget their shame and all the treachery they have practiced against me, when they dwell securely in their land with none to make them afraid, when I have brought them back from the peoples and gathered them from their enemies’ lands, and through them have vindicated my holiness in the sight of many nations.
Ezekiel 29:26-27

What I’m about to say (write) is going to be very unpopular. It may even get me banned from some places and put on a black-list for some organizations. But here it goes:

Every human being is born sinful, spiritually dead and blind, and an enemy of God.

There, I said. I’m not going to apologize for saying it – because it is true. I suppose I could apologize for the way I say it, but I can’t think of a better, more softer, way to say this.

And I need to say it because we all need to hear it!

I didn’t make this up. I’m not the first person to stumble upon this.

Nearly 500 years ago, a man by the name of Philip was taught by another man by the name of Martin and wrote these words (albeit in German and Latin and not English):

“Our churches teach that since the fall of Adam, all who are naturally born are born with sin, that is, without the fear of God, without trust in God, and with the inclination to sin, called concupiscence. Concupiscence is a disease and original vice that is truly sin. It damns and brings eternal death on those who are not born anew through Baptism and the Holy Spirit” (Augsburg Confession, Article II, The Reader’s Edition of the Book of Concord, ©2005 CPH, pp 31-32).

I was born a sinner. I would have perished eternally unless God saved me – which he did! Through the sacrifice of his only begotten Son Jesus Christ on the cross, I am forgiven of all my sin. Through the resurrection from the dead of Jesus Christ I am assured of eternal life in heaven.

I still sin much and I still sin daily. But I also have my baptismal grace which gives me the power of daily contrition and repentance and receives the forgiveness of God through the blood of Christ on a daily basis!

There is a picture of this in the Bible. It is the Old Testament people of God, Israel.

They were created by God and called out by God to be separate from the rest of the world. But they continued to reject God. They were less than 100 days from the time they left Egypt and slavery when they rejected God and built a golden calf to worship!

They would continue to be called back from their sin, forgiven by God and then reject God yet again. Over and over again. Still, God continued to pour out his grace and mercy on them over and over.

But there will come a time when the need for over-and-over-pouring-out will come to an end! The prophet Ezekiel foresees a time when there will be an end to all sin. God will take his people to heaven where there will be no more sin, tears, pain, or death.

Nor will we remember that we were sinners. We will certainly focus all our thoughts and lives on God alone and his glory and majesty and love!

He says that we will “dwell securely” because there will be no more enemy, no more death, only light and love and God!

This is certainly good news!

Too good to keep to myself!

Please join me in living anew and tell others about this wonderfully good news!

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

