I’ll Do It

All the people answered together and said, “All that the Lord has spoken we will do.”
Exodus 19:8

Every parent, I believe, has experienced the “I’ll do it!” response from their children.

“Please, walk the dog!”

“I’ll do it.”

“Please, unload the dishwasher!”

“I’ll do it.”

“Please, clean your room!”

“I’ll do it.”

“Please, keep your truck clean, inside and out”

“I’ll do it.”

A blessed parent is one who experiences the culmination of the response, “I’ll do it.”

But for some parents, the culmination is few and far between!

The “I’ll do it” and then it doesn’t get done is much more common. Jesus even told a parable about this.

“What do you think? A man had two sons. And he went to the first and said, ‘Son, go and work in the vineyard today.’ And he answered, ‘I will not,’ but afterward he changed his mind and went. And he went to the other son and said the same. And he answered, ‘I go, sir,’ but did not go. Which of the two did the will of his father?” They said, “The first.” (Matthew 21:28-31)

Jesus’ point is that we are all asked to do, to go. To go work in the vineyard, in the harvest field, by which Jesus means the world of people who need to hear or have heard the Gospel.

Some of us answer, “No” but then have a change of heart. That change of heart is called “repentance” and comes by the Holy Spirit using the Law on our hearts.

We repent of our sin of hearing Jesus but rejecting his command to go and work.

Of course, Jesus forgives all our sins – even this one – and in the power of the Gospel (the forgiveness), the Holy Spirit motivates us to go and work as Jesus asked us to in the first place.

But some of us answer “I’ll do it” but then don’t do it. This, too, is a sin. One I’m sure every parent is familiar with.

There can be many reasons why the action doesn’t follow the response.

Some say, “I’ll do it” but then get distracted by something or someone and put off “doing it” and forget to get back to it.

Some say, “I’ll do it” but then succumb to the temptation that they can’t actually do it. Satan has lied to them and convinced them that they don’t have the power to go to work for Jesus in the vineyard, in the harvest field.

There are also some who just out-and-out lie. They say, “I’ll do it” with no intention to ever going out to work.

All sin. All needs to be repented of. All forgiven by Christ through his death and resurrection!

And when we repent of these – as well as all our – sins, we need to strive to not commit them again!

As Christ has forgiven us, let us make our “I’ll do it” a promise we will keep through the power of the Holy Spirit!

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries to help keep this devotional going here.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

