Renewed Strength

They who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength….
Isaiah 40:31

Sometimes I just get so tired that I lose my cool.

I get real impatient and I snap at people when I’m tired.

And there are times when I get tired that I don’t feel like doing much of anything except sit around.

And that makes me more tired.  And weak. And then I tend to get sick.

I feel faint. I feel weary. Even as a young man, who should be full of vigor and energy!

I’m exhausted and I can’t think very well. I may have plans and desires but when I’m exhausted I can’t put the plans into words and I can’t find the strength to even desire them!

This is certainly not God’s plan for my life.

It is most certainly a result of sin.

Now, everyone needs a day of rest. That we need rest is not a result of sin. God created a day of rest for his creation before the Fall.

What makes us tired can be a result of sin, however.

Especially if we are attempting to run our lives our way.

While God gave us the ability to reason and think, as well as gifting us with passions and talents, if we use them selfishly we will find ourselves exhausted.

Also, if we use them to try to make other people happy, to please others, we can also find ourselves exhausted. That’s because other people’s happiness is not in our control! People must ultimately choose to be happy.

So, there are times I’m tired. I look forward to my day off so I can rest. Hopefully, I’ll recover from my weariness.

I have looked forward to vacations for the same reason. But sometimes it doesn’t work. And I shouldn’t be surprise.

If I’m spending five days – or 50 weeks – getting tied up in knots, two days – or 2 weeks – isn’t going to be enough time to unravel them!

What’s the solution? How can I renew my strength? How can I find a way to run and not be weary, walk and not faint?

By “waiting for the Lord” (Isaiah 40:31).

I have found that my exhaustion and weariness comes from attempting to do life my way, in my own time, with my own strength.

But that was never how God intended for us to do life!

The day of rest that he made holy (see Exodus 20:11) was intended to be a day that we worship God. That’s “waiting for the Lord.

When we come together with brothers and sisters in Christ and worship God, we hear the Word of God, we confess our sins, we are absolved of ours sins, and we can receive the Sacrament of the Altar for the forgiveness of sins, life and salvation.

That will renew our strength. That will enable us to run and not be weary, walk and not faint!

Rest is not just sitting and relaxing, it is “waiting for the Lord” in worship and prayer and God’s Word.

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries here to help keep this devotional going.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

Leave a Reply

