Separated

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?
Romans 8:35

Nothing seems to be more frightening to a child then to be separated from their mom or dad.

As a 10-year-old I felt that kind of fear when my parents thought I was old enough to go to the movies with my brother for an afternoon while they did some Christmas shopping.

There was a time, apparently, when 10-year-olds would spend the afternoon in a movie theater and all was right in their world.

But I was growing up in an “in-between” time. Not quite in the present day when it just isn’t safe or right to leave 10-year-olds by themselves at the movies and the “good ol’ days” when it was practically a Saturday afternoon ritual.

My brother and I were dropped off at the theater with just enough money to get two tickets, two cokes, and two small popcorns. My parents would be on the other side of town Christmas shopping and would be back to pick us up before the cartoons and movie were over.

About 20 minutes into half-hour cartoon fest, I got really scared. I convinced my brother to leave with me and head to where I thought our parents were shopping. I was scared. It was the first time I had been separated from my parents for that length of time.

We walked about a mile to the store I thought they were at. As it turns out, they weren’t there. Which scared me even more. But an understanding and kind store manager drove us back to the theater and I had just enough money to get us back in.

Soon enough the whole ordeal was over and we were reunited with our parents.

Being separated from someone you love and who loves you is stressful and can be a frightening feeling.

This is actually how we come into the world. As we are “conceived and born sinful” (see Psalm 51), we would be lost forever, eternally separated from God, unless God came to get us.

Which is exactly what God did. Jesus Christ was born, lived, died, rose and ascended in order to ransom us back from sin, death, and the power of the devil.

All that separated us from God was forgiven by Christ’s shed blood on the cross.

Through the Sacrament of Holy Baptism, we are no longer separated from God.

The promise of Christ is that now nothing will separate us from God.

There will still be frightening times that we will go through. The illness of a parent or child. The death of a loved one. The loss of a job. War, famine, and other worldly hardships constantly plague us in this life.

But God’s promise to us is that none of these will ever separate us from him.

And that’s comforting to know. It is a beautiful thing.

Prayer

Heavenly Father, thank you for loving me and saving me through the shed blood of your Son. I pray that you continue to show me how much you love me and how nothing will ever separate me from your love; through Jesus Christ, my Lord. Amen.

©2017 True Men Ministries

______________________________________

Read past devotions at the True Man Blog here.

Contribute to True Men Ministries here to help keep this devotional going.

Listen to the True Man Podcast here.

Subscribe to In My Father’s Footsteps here.

1 thought on “Separated”

Leave a Reply

